So, I read this article asking what would you do if you saw something bad or unethical in your company? Would you report it? Would you keep your mouth shut? The article mentions people at Penn State who knew of what was happening but rather than say anything and create bad PR for their company- they chose to say nothing at all.

I thought I’d take a stab at this question, because the answer seems so clear- but in reality it is not.

I’d obviously like to say that yes, absolutely, I would go straight to higher-ups in the company or the police if I saw something illegal. But- in the Penn State case, the President said nothing knowing that saying something would create a disaster. It may seem bad to say, but I can see his point. It is easy to not take the moral high-road. It is easy to just.. think its not as bad as it was, to not think about it etc. In the Penn State case- while I do see his point, I think if he had reported it first- he may have made himself look a lot better and created a better image for himself. Sounds selfish- but with him not being the one to say something it makes the whole scenario look that much worse.

The article brings up the points also- what if your agency or company was over billing a client? What if your manager was lying about the success of a campaign? In these scenarios, I think I would try and say something to a boss or manager or maybe HR. I would probably keep it as internal as possible and try to resolve the issue as quietly as possible. If the issue was not resolved I may do more, and continue to say something and maybe I would look elsewhere for employment.

Because I am so close to graduation, I know that I need to start thinking about these questions and realizing that these kinds of things can and may happen. For now, however the most ethical question I have to ask myself is whether or not to cut someone off or not. (Hint: The answer is usually yes)

Link to the blog article I got this from: If you see something, do you always say something?

